Have you ever been at a restaurant and thought to yourself: “man, I really wish I had some freshly ground pepper right now”?  Even worse, picture this: you’re eating lunch somewhere and suddenly realize that there is NO PEPPER AT ALL. (*Gasp*  Say it’s not so).

There was a time in my life that this seemed to happen a lot (except at Olive Garden, where they grind the pepper IN FRONT OF YOU. They are an inspiration of true dedication to the culinary community.  I know I’m inspired.).  I like to think of myself as the kind of person who thinks ahead – I try to stay a little bit before the game… and that’s why I now carry a pepper grinder (complete with peppercorn) in my purse: that way, anywhere I go, I’m always ready.

Call me extreme, but I am a huge pepper fan.  It.goes.on.everything.  Popcorn? Turkey sandwich? Ketchup? Pizza? Salad?  There is nothing like a tablespoon or two of freshly ground pepper to take that meal from decent to delicious.  There was one time I left my pepper grinder at home (believe me – it will never happen again) and I was half-tempted to sprinkle some sand on my meal to at least give the visual impression of pepper. (I resisted, however)

… and that is why I love my gift from Tannie…

At a time when my pepper supply has been running SO low that I’ve had to being to ration (which is SO HARD)… They not only got me ONE new pepper grinder – – they got me: (drum roll please) THE WHOLE COLLECTION.  It was a Christmas Miracle.  I have smelled them all and look forward to finding many things over which to grind them in the near future.

So – next time you find yourself in a restaurant in need of freshly-ground pepper (believe me, it happens more often than you would think) (except at Olive Garden… but we’ve already discussed this…) you now know who to call. (and if I’m not around, I happen to know someone else who is pepper-dependent… her name starts with an “m” and rhymes with “sparta”.  She is a nurse, if that helps)